Liebster Award

Hey guys! Katie at Look She Can Blog nominated me for the Liebster Award. I wasn’t sure what this was, until I looked it up. This is an online-only award that bloggers tend to give each other when they have found a blog that they love. It is sort of a chain as well, once one blogger receives the compliment, they then fill out the post and let up to five other bloggers with less than 200 followers know how much they appreciate them. It’s a wonderful gesture and a tradition in the blogging world that allows new bloggers to get their content out there. So, thank you very much, Katie!

How this works is that when you have been nominated by another blogger, you write a post thanking the blogger who nominated you as part of your acceptance, and then answer a few questions they have for you. You then nominate up to five bloggers with under 200 followers that you want to share with the world and create five questions for them to answer so the cycle can continue. Here are my questions I was asked to answer:

Why did you start your blog and was there a pivotal moment that pushed you to create your blog?

Originally, I started my blog because I was miserable at work. I had recently graduated from college and wondered how people could possibly live like this. Working an 8 to 4 desk job just to pay the bills and live for the weekend…that was what I was doing. I needed a place to express my frustration at society for creating such a crippled system. No one should spend their life being “content” instead of happy. Especially not for some meaningless green paper. A few months down the road, I ended up doing something that I never thought I’d do and I was lucky enough to have a blog to document it all.  The pivotal moment was when I returned from my vacation to work and I realized how much I hated it. I knew then that I needed to be able to write my thoughts down.

What is your absolute favorite thing to write about?
I really like to write about “reality” and what it means to me. I’ve slowly come to realize that there is no such thing as the reality that society has put forth for us. There are cultural norms that allow us to do specific things but prevent us from pursuing our true interests. In America, within most states, the norm after graduating from high school is to go to college and then get a “real” job. There is no getting around the fact that people who do not go to school are judged. People who try to achieve their own goals, rather than working a job they hate, are seen as lazy and naive. I could write about this forever, but you get the point!

What are your favorite kind of blogs to read?

I like to read blogs in which people reveal something super personal about themselves. I just love the intrigue of knowing that they’re being completely honest because they have some level of anonymity.

What are your goals for your blog and do you see yourself blogging long term?

I’m not sure that I have any specific goals for my blog. I also have a youtube channel, so if my blog and YT account could benefit each other, that would be great. I do see myself blogging for a long time. Perhaps a little bit less over the years, but I love to write and I don’t see that changing.

What do you think is the best book or movie of all time?

I actually don’t watch movies very often and typically don’t enjoy them even when I watch them. I really like the books, “Tithe” and “Shattered”.

Thank you again to Katie for nominating me! Be sure to check out her blog here or the link in the first paragraph. Now I would like to nominate Girl Writing for her blog titled Girl Writing and Megan at her blog titled Young Widow MD.

Girl Writing has the most wonderfully honest and intriguing posts. I highly recommend that you search down “Welfare Momma” by her and give it a read – its a good one. Megan’s life story is definite one you’re going to want to follow, I’m not going to give you a spoiler…but she’s an amazing woman.

To accept your nomination, you both just have to answer these five questions I have for you:

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. Do you feel that writing helps you in any way?
  3. What was your favorite post to write?
  4. What experience in your life was a “turning point” for you?
  5. Would your friends/family be surprised to know that you have a blog? Why?
Leave a Reply

